Norton wins reelection in Smyrna

SMYRNA, Georgia — Incumbent Mayor Derek Norton won re-election in Smyrna.

According to numbers from Cobb County elections officials, with 100 percent of precincts reporting, Norton picked up 55.1 percent of the vote. Ken Hymes followed with 43.2 percent, while perennial candidate Alex Backry grabbed 1.7 percent of votes.

In Ward 4, incumbent Councilman Charles “Corky” Welch won re-election with nearly 51.3 percent of the vote, fending off challenger Michael Power. In Ward 5, incumbent Councilwoman Susan Wilkinson picked up nearly 66.5 percent of the vote to defeat challenger Suz Kaprich.

Palazzo Vecchio
About Sightseers’ Delight 514 Articles
Sightseers’ Delight started publishing in June 2016. The site, published by The DeFeo Groupe, collects and curates content about places where historical events large and small happened. The site builds off the legacy of The Travel Trolley, which launched in June 2009. The site aimed to be a virtual version of the trolley tours offered in so many cities.