The Anchor is an iconic pub in the London Borough of Southwark, specifically in the Bankside area on the south bank of the River Thames. During Shakespeare’s time, this district was the center of theater, and the Thames served as London’s main highway. The Anchor is the only remaining riverside inn from that period, and it used to be a favorite spot for actors from neighboring playhouses such as the Globe, the Swan, and the Rose. It was also where diarist Samuel Pepys witnessed the Great Fire of London in 1666, as he took shelter in “a little alehouse on bankside … and there watched the fire grow.” Sadly, the pub was destroyed by fire because its primary construction material was oak. However, it was rebuilt in 1676 and has undergone several additions over the centuries. The Anchor has a rich history of attracting river pirates and smugglers. During repairs in the early 19th century, a massive oak beam was discovered, revealing cleverly hidden hiding places most likely used to store stolen goods and contraband.